Benefits of Membership

As a member of ABCI, you will have access to:

ABCI's Professional Development Programmes:
ABCI on a regular basis conducts professional development programmes / workshops for the benefit of the business communicators. The main thrust is of course, on the Print Media as on date. However, with the growing influence of electronic media, the day is not too far when electronic media will get an equal importance in Business Communications. The Seminars on Print Media covered subjects like print and production of In-house Journal, handling Print Media, etc. In Electronic Media, Seminars like Web Communication, Production of Corporate Films, Website Designing were organised. This apart, seminar on Media Relations is on the card.

Information about the programmes organised are sent to members well in advance over mail. These programmes are conducted by well-known corporate communications, media professionals in Indian industry and help the members to hone their communication skills still further.

Seminars & Conferences:
A convention emphasizing the need for Communications in the Banking and Finance Profession was organised on Friday, 21st September, 2007 at Bangalore in association with PRCI and IBA. The Summit was well attended by over 100 delegates from various Banks and Financial Institutions. Mr. Praful Mallya, CMD, Vijaya Bank was the Chief Guest on the occasion. ABCI intend to make it as a unique feature for the Banking & Finance Industry and will be an event on yearly calendar. This apart, ComFest, a Communication Festival has emerged as an annual feature and has gained a lot of popularity.

Industry Acclaimed ABCI Accreditation:
ABCI is the first organisation in India to have successfully launched the concept of Accreditation Programme in India for Business Communicators and Public Relations fraternity. In a function organised on Friday, 20th April, 2007 at NCPA, Mumbai, nine stalwarts viz.; Mr. Shivnath Thukral, Dr. G. C. Banik, Prof. Jeroo Mulla, all from Mumbai, Mr. Debjit Rath and Mr. Sanjay Singh, both from New Delhi, Mr. P. R. Joshi from Ahmedabad, Mr. M. B. Jayaram, Dr. G. P. C. Nayar from Cochin and Mr. L. R. Sailo, Aizawl, Mizoram, were awarded with the fellowship of the Brains Trust of ABCI. Subsequently ABCI awarded Fellowship to Communication Leaders and will continue to do so to benchmark the communication professionals pan India. It is one of the Best Practices ABCI pioneered.

ABCI brings out an annual publication: ABCI Round-up. Sought after by the members it contains information about the activities of ABCI, news round-up, articles written by prominent communications professionals, opportunities news, etc.

Annual Awards Function:
ABCI's Annual Awards Nite is the most prestigious function in the country in the Business Communicators fraternity. There are 32 categories comprising Print & Electronic Media in which Gold, Silver & Bronze Awards are given. Last year, i.e. for the 51st Annual Awards competition, ABCI had received 952 nominations and more than 100 companies had participated, as against 892 nominations of previous year.

Last year, ABCI felicitated Ms. Shweta Rajpal Kohli, Editor, Economic Affairs with Communicator of the Year Award, Mr. Agnello Dias, MD & CEO, TapRoot Advertising who is created the famous Air Tel Campaign "Har Ek Friend Jaruri Hota Hai", with Communicator of the Decade Award, Mr. Kiron Kasbekar, MD The Information Company Limited who is former Executive Editor, The Economic Times, Mumbai, with Excellence Business Journalism Award, Mr. Jayant Pendharkar, Former VP & Head Marketing & Communications, TCS Limited, with Excellence in Marketing & Brand Communication, Mr. K Ventakaramanan, President & Member of the Board, L&T, with Global Communicator's Award, Mr. Hudson Samarasinghe, Chairman, Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation, erstwhile, Radio Ceylon, famous for "Binaca Geet Mala" with Strategic Business Communications Award, Mr. Ashok Advani, Chairman & Founder of Business India, who brought Business Media in a Magazine Format for the first time in India, with the Life Time Achievement Award, Mr. Sylvester da' Cunha, Chairman, da' Cunha Associates, Maker of Amul Brand with Life Time Achievement Award, and finally Mr. Alyque Padamsee, the Brand Guru from India, who created several Brands, with Life Time Achievement Award. Padma Vibhushan Dr. M. S. Swaminathan, Hon'ble Member of Parliament, (Rajya Sabha - Upper House) who is Father of Green Revolution in India and winner of World Food Prize which is considered as an Alternate Noble Prize, was the Chief Guest on the occasion.

ABCI web site: Members' Login:
Recently launched, ABCI web site ( is another platform for the ABCI members to network with fellow members, and be in touch with the latest in the industry. ABCI web site also features a job section now, open only to members. All the major corporates in India are ABCI members and bound to display a vacancy in Corporate & Business Communications will soon have a facility to post in ABCI job section so that they can reach out to the whole ABCI community.

Home  |  About Us  |  Awards  | News & Articles  |  Photo Gallery  |  Videos  |  Press Releases  |  Advertise  |  Join ABCI  |  Contact Us
Copyright © 2024. ABCI. All right reserved.
Designed & Website Maintenance by MiracleworX Web Design Company In Mumbai